A Clean Slate

1 Jan

It’s January 1st which signals the end of the holiday season for me & the start of putting the decorations away. This holiday season was alright for me. Not the best.Nothing can hold a candle to Christmas in the northeast. Period. Sure,it’s easier for me to get into the holiday spirit with a little one, but he was oblivious this year. He preferred to play with his old toys instead of playing with the wrapping paper & boxes which held his gifts.

Like my son, I started feeling nonchalant about the holidays as the new year approached. I wanted the hustle to die down. I was tired of all the commercials on tv, of all the traffic to the malls. Yes, I was even tired of all the sweets that go along with the holidays. My pants were starting to get tight, which is a sign to stop eating. I loved being able to spend Christmas with my family, but by December 31st, I was done.

Christmas "clutter"

Christmas “clutter”

I was proud of how I decorated the dining room table, but found it to be just clutter once Christmas came since it got in the way at meal times since we have family in town.

Today, I was eager to put all the decor away. What I was left with was a clean slate that was pleasant to see. The new year is my clean slate; it’s my chance to de-clutter my life. New Year’s Day is one of my favorite holidays because it gives us all another chance to start fresh. To learn from our mistakes and grow stronger. 2013 was a very difficult year for me but without a doubt, it made my skin a lot thicker.

IMG_3455

Later on today, I took a walk on the beach. Even after living here for 7 and a half years, it doesn’t get old. Looking out into the ocean gave me a calm and peaceful feeling like it always does. The ocean seems endless. Just like the ocean, I felt like my options on how to spend these 365 days were limitless. I held on to that feeling extra close today and I hope I can keep this warm feeling in mind through the year.

Welcome 2014. I am ready.

7 Responses to “A Clean Slate”

  1. Kath Galasso (@KatsTheory) January 5, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

    Living in the Northeast, there has been snow and cold and snow and even more cold. I long for a beach. Going to LA at the end of the month, and hope to have the chance to walk in the sand and feel the ocean under my feet. I think 2014 will be epic. Lots of pages to fill, but taking it slow enough to enjoy it is the key. Good luck with yours.

    • basicallyb January 5, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

      I hope you enjoy your time in L.A. I think I’ll take a page out of your book & take 2014 slow so I can enjoy it.

  2. elleroy was here (@modmomelleroy) January 8, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    I felt that way this holiday season too. I was slow getting into the swing of it, felt overwhelmed and behind on the hamster wheel of it all and where I am usually sorry to take the decorations down, this year it was somehow a relief. I have a feeling that 2014 will be a much better year for us all. Happy New Year to you.

    • basicallyb January 9, 2014 at 6:53 pm #

      Yes I hope 2014 is better for all of us! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ten Things of Thankful | Track Pants and a Tot - January 5, 2014

    […] 1) Did I mention I am glad 2014 is here? 2013 was a very trying year for me & I refuse to say that two years in a row, so this year is all about focusing on the positive. […]

  2. Tuesday Ten: Resolutions | Track Pants and a Tot - January 7, 2014

    […] as I mentioned before, 2014 is all about positivity. I don’t want a repeat of 2013. So, I made a list of goals […]

  3. 2013 in Review | Track Pants and a Tot - January 14, 2014

    […] I didn’t make any resolutions or goals last year. I really don’t unless it’s something I know I’ll actually do. This year, I strive to be more positive & not repeat 2013.  […]

Leave a Reply

