Twisted Mixed Tape: Teenybopper Edition

16 Dec

Yup, you read that right. Tis the season for all things sugary sweet including music. I know some of you have love for boy & girl bands so sit back & enjoy my favorite teenybopper songs. Don’t worry, no one’s watching!

1) Ok first of all, I have to give it up to the boy band that lead to my love of pop music. That would be NKOTB. I was a youngin when they first came on the scene at a mere 8 years old. Joey McIntyre was my favorite & he’s aged pretty well too. With that being said, my favorite NKOTB song is Please Don’t Go Girl where Mr McIntyre sings lead.

2) Along came the Backstreet Boys 10 years after NKOTB took their final bows. I wasn’t as hardcore a fan, but I did like their songs with I Want it That Way being my favorite.

3) Of course I need to include pop princess Britney Spears… this was after she shed her good girl image with Toxic.

4) However, I always preferred Christina Aguilera to Britney. My favorite song and my anthem to this day is Fighter.

5) Finally, here’s NSync with someone you may know by the name of Justin Timberlake. I was more of a BSB fan than NSync but I totally dug their later albums like No Strings Attached & Celebrity. It was tough but my favorite song is It’s Gonna Be Me

I hope this mixed tape wasn’t too syrupy sweet for you. I like to listen to these songs when I’m in a carefree mood or need some cheering up. Join us at Twisted Mixed Tape & share some of your favorites.

 

14 Responses to “Twisted Mixed Tape: Teenybopper Edition”

  1. Dream December 16, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    I was already in college by the time the NKOTB craze began, so pretty much missed it. But I did go through BSB, N’Sync, Brittany and Christina with a roommate’s kid (while secretly trying to steer them to Metallica and Led Zeppelin).

  2. Steve December 17, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    I must be a teenybopper because I (1) knew all these songs and (b) loved them :)

  3. elleroy was here (@modmomelleroy) December 17, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Toxic has such a great groove to it and that James Bond guitar part. Mm Mm.

  4. Jen December 17, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Omg! I love this list!!! I dated a guy when I Want it That Way came out, he was obsessed, it turned me off, he went bye bye. But now for some reason I love to hear that song!

    • basicallyb December 17, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      Yeah, ya don’t hear of many guys liking BSB. Glad you liked the list!

  5. Louise December 18, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    I enjoyed your list – but what made me smile is I think – while I might have done a similar list (and reserve the right in future!) I find it interesting which ones from these bands stick with different people. Please don’t go Girl was a total meh! for me. But I REMEMBER having a conversation about how I really liked The Right Stuff when I was 11 with another girl while volunteering in the Kindergarten room at my elementary school (it’s funny the things that stick, right?) I’ve always had a soft spot for Britney, but agree completely on the Christina pref as well (she’s obviously talented) – I still have Fighter on my IPod, but will forever enjoy Dirty (once I got over the chaps thing). Finally – I was a bit old once BSB hit, but have fond memories of guys at the bar learning all the moves to “Everybody” in order to (effectively) pick up women – so that would be my pick from them :)

    Great bands! It’s a fun genre!

    • basicallyb December 19, 2013 at 11:18 am #

      Isn’t it crazy how songs take you back to a certain memory? Gotta love the Christina love too! And I can’t believe you actually saw guys trying to do BSB moves! Wow!

  6. Kir Piccini December 19, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    I think you and I are going to be friends. ;)
    loved the mix.

  7. Rachée Fagg (@sayitrahshay) December 20, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    People can say what they want about Britney but Toxic is my song! When Britney is on, she is on! I’m listening to it now!

    • basicallyb December 22, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      I LOVE how so many people have commented that they dig Toxic!

Leave a Reply

