Ten Things of Thankful

15 Dec

Wow, it’s been a really busy week. Two cookie parties, a trip to a new bakery,Stella & Dot party and some skating in the mix as well.

It was a fun week but to be honest, I am so worn out & I feel like an old lady. I need a vacation from my week for sure! Before I get all cranky, I’d like to reflect on what I’m thankful for this week.

1) As cranky as I sound, I AM thankful I was busy this week. Yes I’m not a spring chicken anymore & need extra time to recoup, but at the same time, I get bored super easily. So with a week like this past one, there was no time for that at all.

2) One of the most things I’m thankful for this week is getting my grandma’s ring back. We were burglarized 3 years ago & I never thought I’d see this ring again. I am so glad to have it back & I’m guarding it with my life. It gives me just a bit of closure.

3) I got to catch up with two friends whom I rarely see this week. I’m still used to the life I had in college which included friends living just up the street. It’s something I miss. So I enjoy seeing my friends when I can since our visits are fewer these days.

4) I’m thankful my car didn’t break down during both of my long trips over to see my friends. I’m also thankful I made it to their houses & back to mine safely.

5) My son has been sick this week. The worst he’s been since he was born. I’m thankful that the pediatrician is only a phone call away & I’m thankful my husband is helping me take care of our sick little one.

6) Since my son has been sick, he’s been a lot more snuggly. I’m taking full advantage of this since he likes to run and play when he’s feeling well.

7) I’m thankful for my skating family and my coaches who encourage me, especially with a sport in which you spend years learning & refining basic elements.

8) I am so glad I finished my needlepoint this year. I started it in August when I thought I gave myself enough time to finish it before Christmas. Then I started doubting myself, but I in fact finished 10 days before. Whew!

9) I’m glad I joined MOMS club. I’m still fairly new but it looks to be a good group.

10) As cheesy as it sounds, I’m thankful you’re reading this. There’s been several times this year when I was thinking of quitting my blog. It hasn’t been as easy  has been difficult to keep up, more so than my food blog. But your comments are encouraging.

What are you thankful for this week?

Ten Things of Thankful
15 Responses to “Ten Things of Thankful”

  1. Sandy Ramsey December 15, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    I am so glad that you got your grandmother’s ring back! An early gift and one I can tell you are very grateful for! I sure hope your little one gets to feeling better soon. We have had our share of sickness over the past few weeks and I’m knocking on wood its over!

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks everyone for your kind words on my grandma’s ring & my sick little one. Tis the season I suppose! I hope he feels better soon too, but better this week than Christmas, right?

  2. Kristi December 15, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Wow–getting a ring back after 3 years is a bit of a miracle! I have my grandma’s ring, too, and know I would be upset to lose it, so I can imagine the relief you must feel.

    Hope your little one is feeling better soon!

  3. skipcote December 15, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    holy cow how did the ring come back to you? as nice a snuggly is a hope your kiddos feeling better soon! And I know what you mean about blogging sometimes it takes a lot of effort but I think what I get from it is so much more and I would miss it so much. Well we’re off for the next two weeks of the ttot….so there’s a little break at least!

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

      The LAPD had recovered a lot of stolen items. After going back & forth w/ them, I got the ring back. Lengthy process but an early Christmas present indeed. Also thanks for understanding about the blog thing.

  4. Lizzy - Muddle-Headed Mamma December 15, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Do.Not.Quit.Your.Blog. I have thought the same thing myself several times over this year, but I am so glad that I haven’t and please don’t you do it either, because I loved reading your list. I’m so sorry to hear your son is sick and I hope he gets well really soon. I know what you mean about kids being cuddlier when their feeling poorly. Are you a figure skater? Have you posted photos of this? I’d love to see them. I love watching skaters on TV. There is an ice-ring about three hours from where I live, but obviously in Australia it’s pretty rare to meet anyone who is a serious skater! I loved the story about getting back your grandmother’s ring. What a wonderful sense of closure that must have given you. When people rob others they don’t consider the hugely stressful element of losing an item that has enormous sentimental value for the owner. Wishing you and your family a very merry Christmas :)

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you so much! It’s definitely been an uphill battle w/ the blog but participating in these prompts every week has helped. Skating is my hobby. Been at it for 2 and a half years. I’ll be sure to post videos once I get the guts to!

  5. Louise December 15, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    So good to hear that you got your grandmother’s ring back – what was the story there? We were burglarized three years ago and, at the time, I was so thankful that all they took was cash, because I don’t know how I’d handle losing some of our more treasured keepsakes – as I imagine your grandmother’s ring probably is.

    Sorry to hear your little one is sick and hope he is feeling better soon – having been recently cooped up with ill children – I’ll be thinking of you guys.

    Finally – on the blog thing – and whether to continue – forever and always a personal choice. I figure if it works for you – keep doing it. If it stops working for you – give some thought as to why. If you can change something to again make it work, do that. If not, then stop. After my first child I “baby blogged” for about nine months and then let it go because it stopped working for me. At the time, it was mostly a time management issue, but looking back, I think I’d also outgrown what I was writing about. I started my current blog in May and so far, so good. I did a few things differently this time around that, I think, make it better for me. Anyway – all that to say – it’s about figuring out why you want to do it – and then IF you want to do it. I wish you all the best – whichever way you go.

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words. I appreciate it. Our home was pretty much ransacked 3 years ago. Even our dog ran away in the process but thankfully she was returned right away. As for getting my grandma’s ring back, my friend had alerted me earlier this year that LAPD had a slew of recovered items from burglaries on their website & after sifting through a bunch of pics, I found my grandma’s ring. After going back & forth w/ LAPD, I finally got it back thankfully. Thanks for the thoughts about the little one. Looks like we may be hermits this week. Better than Christmas right?

  6. christine December 16, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    We’ve been busy, busy here, too. Good things, but still busy. I hear you about needing a vacation.
    How exciting to have gotten the ring back!
    I’m glad to hear you joined a MOMS group. There’s nothing like a good group of friends to help us along in our parenting.
    Congrats on finishing the needlepoint! I used to cross-stitch a lot and gave many as gifts. Oh, the pressure of finishing on time! It’s not like you can simply stitch faster to get it done. :)

    • basicallyb December 16, 2013 at 11:28 am #

      Thanks! So far so good w/ MOMS group. Definitely need the support. Yeah you definitely can’t just stitch faster. I tried that once & my hand hurt so much I was out of commission for 3 days!

  7. lrconsiderer December 16, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Ohhh your poor boy! I hope he heals really quickly. That’s a horrible thing to have to deal with, especially so close to Christmas, and with so much to do. Thank goodness you have support in caring for him.

    I am SO HAPPY that you got your Grandmother’s ring back. That’s super-special. Wow!

    • basicallyb December 16, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      Thank you on both accounts! If anything, I’m glad he’s sick this week & not Christmas.

  8. Brittnei Washington December 16, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

    Aw! I’m so glad that you haven’t quit your blog either. I really enjoyed reading your list. I have a toddler so I can understand what you mean about them taking it a bit easier when sick. My son hasn’t ever really been sick, but he has had a fever a few times since he was born. No cough or anything else, just a little temperature. When it was at like 100 or so he would be more relaxed so I can totally empathize with what you are saying.

    So awesome that you got your grandma’s ring back from that burglary! :) I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

    • basicallyb December 17, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

      Thank you for the kind words! This is the sickest my son has been since he was born, so I guess we were “lucky” in that sense.

Leave a Reply

