Fried rice & fortune cookies

12 Dec

One of my Christmas traditions is going out for Chinese food on Christmas Eve. No, we never planned on it becoming a tradition. It started when we were hungry after Christmas Eve mass and a Chinese food place around the corner from church was the only restaurant open. Before we knew it, we were going to the restaurant every Christmas Eve, so it became our random tradition.

I’ve never been a huge Chinese food fan, but thanks to this obscure tradition, I always crave some fried rice and fortune cookies every December 24th. I know it’s a chain, and I’ll probably get tomatoes thrown at the computer screen for saying this, but we tend to go to Panda Express for our “traditional” Christmas Eve dinner.

Christmas dinner 2012 Braciole & Verdure al Forno (roast & vegetables)

Christmas dinner 2012 Braciole & Verdure al Forno (roast & vegetables)

Speaking of traditions, I’ve never had a traditional Christmas dinner. I don’t even know what that is. My husband said they pretty much had Thanksgiving dinner for Christmas. For me, that’d get old really fast. One day of turkey is enough. Since I never had a traditional Christmas dinner growing up, I plan something different every year. One year it was crabs, the next it was what I referred to as “all around the world in one dinner” where I made dishes from Italy, Japan, and the Philippines. Last year, I made a roast. Not sure what I’ll make this year. I love cooking because it’s an easy way to taste food from around the world without leaving your kitchen.

Last year, I made a Christmas ornament out of my son’s hand print. I’d like to continue that every year to see how he has grown. My husband was given Christmas ornaments every year from his grandparents, so maybe we could do something like that for Andrew. At any rate, I look forward to making new memories and traditions as Andrew grows! What are some of your Christmas traditions? Join us at Finish the Sentence Friday.

 

Finish the Sentence Friday
20 Responses to “Fried rice & fortune cookies”

  1. Janine Huldie December 13, 2013 at 4:41 am #

    I love the ornament idea and think it sounds like a perfect yearly tradition to me. And we never had Turkey here Christmas Day either. I am Italian and my mom loves lasagna, so that was here go to meal on Christmas. Now that I married an Irishman, when we go to his parents for Christmas Day, they have roast beef. So go figure! But thanks for sharing and linking up with us again!! :)

    • basicallyb December 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

      Love FTSF thanks for having me! I could go for some lasagna right now :)

  2. Sarah December 13, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    For us, Christmas dinner is ravioli made from a family recipe. Before Christmas, my extended family gets together and aunts, uncles, and cousins alike work on making the ravs from flour and eggs to finished product that can be frozen until Christmas Day. Definitely one of my favorite traditions.

    • donofalltrades December 13, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      I would kill another human being over a homemade ravioli! Well, I’d hurt another human probably…killing is drastic.

      • basicallyb December 13, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

        Yeah I’d probably hurt another human being for some homemade ravioli as well. Yum.

    • basicallyb December 13, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

      Oh my goodness this sounds like such a fun tradition! Tasty too. I’ve never had homemade ravioli before.

  3. cynkingfeeling December 13, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I love the hand print idea. It will be neat to compare them year to year.

    • basicallyb December 13, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks. Yeah I’ve also seen a stepping stone craft where the parents take the kid’s foot print yearly.

  4. findingninee December 13, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    MMM Chinese food! How did you make the handprint ornament? That’s such a great idea!

    • basicallyb December 13, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

      One of my friends found the recipe for the dough on Pinterest. I’ll be sure to post something on the blog about it too :)

  5. donofalltrades December 13, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    My wife makes a breakfast casserole thing with eggs and meats and cheese and whatever in it and that’s our Christmas meal. We fill our bellies with it and then throw a bunch of wine and beer on top of it throughout the day. I like the ornament idea.

    • basicallyb December 13, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

      Shoot, that casserole sounds awesome!

  6. canigetanotherbottleofwhine December 14, 2013 at 5:24 am #

    My kids would LOVE the Panda Express tradition on Christmas Eve. They love that place. We do the Around the World Christmas dinner every year with my sister’s family except we do it anywhere from a few days to a few weeks before Xmas. It’s fun!

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 9:25 am #

      Love the Panda Express love! What are you guys having for your around the world dinner this year?

  7. lrconsiderer December 14, 2013 at 6:04 am #

    Well hey, why the heck NOT! It’s a great tradition, and you enjoy it :D

    The handprint ornament idea sounds beautiful :) Go for it.

  8. Lizzy - Muddle-Headed Mamma December 14, 2013 at 8:37 am #

    We love Chinese food too and fortune cookies are so much fun! We buy a box of them sometimes from the supermarket and go through the whole thing in one night :) Love the idea of making an ornament from your son’s hand print … that’ll just become more and more precious to you as the years go by :)

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      Glad to see others that love the Chinese food tradition. Thanks for the kind words on the handprints :)

  9. Pam @ Whatevs... December 14, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    We have a tradition of Chinese on Christmas eve, too, but it’s because we’re Jewish and it’s the only thing open. Besides, Indian, that is. I’ve done that too but I much prefer Chinese. I miss it, now that I’ve married a man whose family is Presbyterian.

  10. Jean December 15, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    I have no idea what a traditional Christmas dinner is so I’m right there with you.

    • basicallyb December 15, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      Hehe thanks! At least one other person gets it :)

Leave a Reply

