Away We Grow

9 Dec

The holidays have always made me very sentimental since we don’t have any family nearby. Adding to that feeling is the fact that my little one turns one and a half this month. It’s all going so fast.

Just a few months ago he was very clingy. It got to the point where I felt I had a third leg. Not complaining, but it really got to the point where I couldn’t get anything done around the house without him crying for me. Now, he’s the exact opposite. There’s so much for him to explore, that he only comes to me occasionally for hugs. He won’t even sit still for a story, much less a snuggle. I do love that he’s getting more independent.  I love our daily dance parties where he bounces and claps to the beat and our conversations that consist of me talking and him babbling back, but at the same time, I can feel his infancy slipping away.

I was doing some shopping at a baby store the other day, and I saw many expectant and new moms browsing the aisles for all those cute baby items. The toys, blankets, bassinets, clothes, and diaper bags. It wasn’t that long ago that I was in their shoes.  I remember spending countless hours scouring the aisles for the perfect swaddle blankets, sleep sacks, pjs & diaper bags. I spent so much time in baby stores during the first few months that I was surprised the staff didn’t know my name! I felt a little jealous since their crazy first year of parenting is only beginning and mine is practically over. Sure I don’t want to relive waking up every three hours nursing and pumping, the anxiety, the baby blues. None of it was pleasant. I do miss snuggling with Andrew, watching him play for hours on end on his baby gym, watching him gain his neck strength with each tummy time session, listening to his first coos. It was such a  precious time that slipped away too quickly. I hope that all these new parents cherish this fleeting time. It’s so true that the days are long and the years are short. I am glad I took a lot of videos & pictures and I journaled as well. I know I can’t go back in time, but all these mementos I have are pretty close. These next few years are not as cutesy as the baby stage, the infant toys replaced with swing sets, slides, workbenches, and play kitchens. We’ll no longer need to go to a baby store, which for me is a little bittersweet since I practically lived in them this year. The diaper bags will be sold in exchange for regular purses. The next stage will just seem so ordinary compared to the excitement of the first year, but I’m also eager to see how this little ball of energy will surprise us next.

One Response to “Away We Grow”

  1. Lance December 9, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    Just wait. My kids are 9, 10 and 17. Their mobility, insouciance toward their mom and I’s lives, and need for only money and a car will make you not miss the little kid days either. It’s the circle of life like Elton John says.

    seriously…hug ’em tight. They grow the hell up and break your heart. jerks

Leave a Reply

