Ten Things of Thankful

1 Dec

Well it’s round 2 of my 10 things of thankful. It’s one of my favorite months of the year behind October & June, so I have plenty to be thankful for.

1) December is a month like nothing else. Maybe I still view it as a child, but there’s nothing wrong with that. I still see December as a time when the world is a bit brighter & people are a bit nicer. Like a child, I wish they stayed like that all through the year.

2) Tying in with that cozy feeling, is the festiveness it brings. I’m one of those people that doesn’t start decorating or listening to Christmas music until after Thanksgiving & it’s finally that time. We got the tree up yesterday, and we’ll turn on the radio to the station that plays only Christmas music and get crazy festive up in here.

3) I’m looking forward to all those holiday parties that I’ve already marked on my calendar. Definitely going to wear my fat pants to those

4) Speaking of fat pants, I’m so glad Thanksgiving dinner was a success. We brined the turkey for the first time, a task that was so intimidating, but turned out so well. Also equally as tasty were the sweet potato souffle, stuffing, and pumpkin chiffon pie.

5) I’m also thankful I have a gym membership where I burned off said Thanksgiving dinner. That was not an easy workout either.

6) I know we’ve got a month to go, but I’m already looking forward to 2014 and December goes so fast that it’ll be here before we know it. I’m really not into this sort of thing, but the year of the snake hasn’t been kind to me.

7) After reading the one and only Considerings‘ post today, I too am thankful to have a life long friend. I don’t have many friends from childhood except her. I’ve known her since I was 5. It doesn’t matter how long we go without talking to each other, the next time we chat, we pick up where we left off. It’s never awkward or weird.

8) I’m glad I watched that Auburn vs Alabama game last night. The ending was just unreal & I’m sure it’ll go down in history, especially since it was replayed the rest of the night.

9) Thankful for big breakfasts on Sundays. There’s nothing like family time around a big meal.

10) Last & most certainly not least, I’m thankful all my family in the Philippines is ok. Especially thankful for my aunt who was in the direct path of the storm. I know she wasn’t able to make it home for Thanksgiving but I hope she does for Christmas.

What are you thankful for?

6 Responses to “Ten Things of Thankful”

  1. Lizzi; Considerer (@LRConsiderer) December 1, 2013 at 10:27 am #

    Ahhh I’m so glad your family are okay! What a huge relief!

    Thanks for the shout-out, and so glad you’ve got that special friend in your life, too – they make ALL the difference :)

    Annnnnd what’s a pumpkin chiffon pie? Because yesterday I made a pumpkin mess-of-crap pie, and I want to know where/how I went wrong…

    • basicallyb December 1, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      Lifelong friends make a HUGE difference! Thanks for the kind words for my Philippines family. The pumpkin chiffon pie is a recipe by Paula Deen y’all ;) it has marshmallows & whipped cream which makes for a lighter consistency pie… sadly, the calories are the same as a regular though! Did the mess pie taste good? That’s the part that matters!

      • Lizzi; Considerer (@LRConsiderer) December 1, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

        Marshmallows? Intriguing! Thanks for letting me know who the recipe’s by – I’ll look it up :D

        The middle tasted good – the outside is HORRIBLE! I might just need to get a spoon for the remainder…

  2. christine December 1, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    It sounds like your Thanksgiving is full of traditional, but with a fancy flare. Not just sweet potatoes, but sweet potato soufflé. Not just pumpkin pie, but pumpkin chiffon pie. Very nice!
    I’m glad to hear you family in the Philippines are well. I’ll continue to pray for everyone, as I know it will be a long recovery.
    How wonderful to have a friend you’ve known since you were 5!! I don’t keep in touch with anyone from grade school. Only a few from high school even.
    Enjoy the Christmas decorating! We’ll be getting ours started with the music cranking soon!

  3. marykatbpcsc45 December 1, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    Hi, I am thankful for so much too. I so enjoyed reading your list. I am glad your family survived that terrible storm. I am praying they are able to still have a wonderful holiday this year despite the tragedy. God Bless and Happy Thanksgiving.

    Mary-andering Creatively

    Mary-andering Among the Pages

    • basicallyb December 3, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      Thank you. That was very kind of you! I hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

