Under My Skin

24 Nov

After posting about 10 things I’m thankful for, it’s time to go to the opposite end of the spectrum for this week’s Listicles is about 10 pet peeves. New readers, I promise this blog is not all doom & gloom! Here we go….

1) “Trying too hard” This hands down is the phrase that pisses me off the most. What the heck does it mean anyway? When making new friends & what not, I always have that one person that says “Don’t try too hard”. Well, if trying too hard is chiming in on a conversation, asking someone how their weekend was, and asking what their plans are for the holidays, and above all this *gasp* being myself then damn it, I’m the frickin poster child for this stupid phrase.

2) “Yes you do” Another phrase that got under my skin during my past life as a waitress. When someone would order something that wasn’t even listed on the menu, I would apologize & say we don’t carry that item & receive this condescending reply.

3) “You’re too funny” said when something isn’t funny. For instance, this phrase has been said to me after I told a person I was in a car accident, I had a bad day, and after commenting that traffic was horrible. Wow. I guess I’m a comedienne eh?

4) People who take up 2 parking spaces. Enough said.

5) Flakes. Yes, life happens & all that jazz, but you know what kind of people I’m talking about here. The chronic flakes.

6) Getting cut off in traffic/lines.

7) Not being taken seriously.

8) The phrase “not really” Either you like something or you don’t.

9) “Whatever” same as above.

10) People who floss at the table.

On a positive note, I think my pet peeves aren’t so bad. They could be worse. At any rate, now that I got all that crap out, it can only get better, right?

What bugs you? Let us know at Monday Listicles.

10 Responses to “Under My Skin”

  1. Stacey (@Staceysmoments) November 25, 2013 at 7:19 am #

    People who take two parking spaces should get a ticket. And flossing at the table?!? That’s just disgusting!!

  2. Marie November 25, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Who flosses at the table? :) Getting cut off in traffic reminds me of another thing I don’t like: when drivers get as far up as they can in another lane and then try to cut in on other drivers who changed lanes at a more reasonable place. There ought to be a name for that kind of person! :)

    • basicallyb November 25, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      Yeah unfortunately I’ve seen people flossing at restaurants. It’s so gross! Haven’t seen it too often thankfully but once is too many! Yeah what’s up with these daredevil drivers?

  3. Janice / GatheringGraces November 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    Oh! I hate it when people take up 2 parking spaces too! Especially when you can tell they did it on purpose to “protect” their precious car!

    Also, I have never seen anyone floss at the table. Seriously? Eww!

  4. pricelessyona November 25, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Taking up 2 parking spots is just rude. A lot of the time, I see that it’s someone with a fancy car, but don’t they know that this move doesn’t necessarily protect their car from getting hit, but just aggravates some people to the point that they may want to do something to their car on purpose. Just my thoughts…

    I have some flaky family members, and the thought of being in their presence sometimes makes my stomach turn…

    • basicallyb November 26, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

      Oh I hear you & agree that their move to save their precious car may backfire on them!

  5. Phoebe November 25, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    I know…I wasn’t thinking when I suggested a more negative list idea for Thanksgiving week! What timing! I found it interesting that many of your pet peeves are expressions…I would add “meh” right alongside your “whatever”.

    • basicallyb November 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

      Yeah, “meh” would be right up there too!

  6. Susannah November 26, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    I’m always told “you’re too funny” at the wrong times. Usually by the type of people that floss at the table. Nice list!

    • basicallyb November 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

      Ha! Those two things definitely go together!

Leave a Reply

