A Thankful November

24 Nov

Happy 25th Ten Things of Thankful! Looks like I picked a good week to finally join the party. This month has been especially long for me, so it was a challenge to look back & think of ten things to be grateful for but I finally got it.

1) I am especially thankful for my sitter. For those that don’t know, I’m an ice skater & over the past year, my husband has watched my son & worked from home so I can skate. Of course, I wouldn’t be able to stay at the rink too long because juggling a baby while working is not an easy gig. So now that we have a sitter, it gives me an opportunity to spend more time at the rink to practice, unwind & have time to myself & even conversations with other adults.

2) I’m also thankful for my husband and his willingness to watch our son on the weekends so I can have some time to myself. Without him, I probably wouldn’t be able to write this post.

3) I’m thankful for my 17 month old. He is shy at first, but once he warms up, he is one chatty & funny little boy.

4) Here’s to indoor playgrounds! They sure beat staying in the house all day when it rains.

5) And here’s to the doggie playgrounds too. So glad there’s a dog park nearby so our feisty golden mix can get her playtime too. My son did have fun trying to keep up with her & saying “daaaaaa” the whole time too.

6) It’s cliche at this point but I’m thankful for the internet & my cell phone especially since we don’t have much family here. Keeping in touch is much more easy with this thing and I don’t know what I’d do without it. Bonus points for Skype which allows all of us to see each other until the next time we’re there in person.

7) I am thankful for my brother, my only immediate family member that lives out here & I look forward to spending Thanksgiving with him.

8) Speaking of Thanksgiving, I’m glad it’s going to be very low key this year, just the 4 of us and let’s face it, I’m thankful for leftovers.

9) I am grateful for moms night out. For allowing me a chance to connect with other mamas, and for letting this food blogger try new restaurants without any interruptions.

10) Lastly, I’m glad December is around the corner. The holiday season never gets old & I’m glad to take part in yet another one.

What are you thankful for this week? Join us at Ten Things of Thankful!

Ten Things of Thankful
12 Responses to “A Thankful November”

  1. Lizzi; Considerer (@LRConsiderer) November 24, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    You picked a great week to join in with this, and I love your list, and look forward to getting to know you better as you come back (you’re coming back next week, right? We know where you are now ;) )

    A low-key Thanksgiving with your brother sounds really nice. There’s a lot (a LOT) of hype about, at the moment, and so many people stressing about how they’re going to cook, or crowing that they’re not hosting this time around…small and simple and lovely is surely the way to go :)

    Your son sounds adorable. I’m really glad you find great places to take him to play :)

    • basicallyb November 24, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks for having me & yes I am grateful we have a mellow day ahead when most will be going crazy!

  2. christine November 24, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Welcome to the TToT!!! You picked a good week, considering there is cake and all.

    An ice skater?! What a wonderful sport. My daughter took lessons for several winters, and I would skate around while she was with her class. Such fun. Although, maybe not as much fun and relaxing when it is your job.
    Indoor playgrounds are fantastic. I am always on the lookout for new ones to visit during these long, Indiana winters.
    Thanks for linking up with us. I so enjoy reading about all of the things making people happy each week.

    • basicallyb November 24, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

      Thank you! And yeah ice skating is my hobby, not headed for Sochi but it’s all good :) Do you & your daughter still skate for fun?

      • christine December 1, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

        I wish. We haven’t been in a long time. Maybe we can get out there sometime over Christmas break.

  3. Clark Scottroger November 24, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    Welcome to the TToT (well, yes, often we write different Comments on blogs…)

    oh, yeah! when you come back next week? there is something call (the) Secret Rule 1.3 (which allows you to use completing a 10 List as an Item!) don’t tell Lizzi and Christine I told you… (they think I’ll find Secret Rule 2.9…)

    • basicallyb November 24, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

      Don’t worry I won’t tell any of the secrets! See you all next week!

  4. skipcote November 24, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    Secret rile #2.9 is clark makes up secret rules…but lizzi has the real ones! Glad you joined today…have a lovely low key holiday!

  5. southmainmuse November 24, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    Mom’s night out. You can’t beat it. And we do take for granted how easy it is these days to keep in touch with people. I still remember calling my parents collect.

  6. Out One Ear - Linda Atwell November 26, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Glad you joined in–and with such a lovely list too. You had me at being an ice-skater. I can skate, but nothing fancy. You sound like you have a talent with this. Could you be an Olympic athlete? Or do you totally do this for pleasure? Anyway, I’d love to watch and I hope you post some pics of you skating in the future.

    I too appreciate a low-key Thanksgiving. And as much as I enjoy the holiday season, sometimes it gets hectic. I plan to pace myself this year. If I do, maybe I’ll not tire of it either. Happy Thanksgiving to you. And BTW, it sounds like you have a great husband. :-)

    • basicallyb November 26, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

      Thanks so much. You’re very kind! I skate just for fun. Nice to meet another skater on here too! I do love it, a great way to relieve stress & great exercise.I’m glad I get to practice a lot more often now.

      I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Under My Skin | Track Pants and a Tot - November 25, 2013

    […] posting about 10 things I’m thankful for, it’s time to go to the opposite end of the spectrum for this week’s Listicles is […]

Leave a Reply

