The Facebook Fast

10 Nov

I admit it, I became a Facebook addict. In recent months, I would find myself aimlessly scrolling through Facebook more times than I care to mention. There were no new statuses or pictures, just aimless scrolling, akin to staring into an empty fridge. I knew it was a huge waste of my time, but it wasn’t enough. I also got sucked into some negativity on Facebook. I found myself worried about how many people would like my posts, I’d compare the amount of likes to my friends, and I’d get depressed. I for some reason felt like I needed to comment on every post I saw no matter how long it took. I knew at that moment that there was something wrong. It was starting to take over the rest of my life. It was at that point, I decided to pull the plug.

I completely deactivated my Facebook account two weeks ago. At first it was hard, I’d always want to check my page, but would remind myself it was for my own good to stay offline. I reactivated my account on Halloween just to post pictures of my son for my family & friends & then signed off promptly. Since then, I’m happy to report that my time on Facebook has been very minimal. I didn’t plan it this way, but I would sign on once, scroll through my timeline & maybe like or comment on any posts I saw at that moment, but didn’t have the desire to stay on all day & like & comment on every single post I would see in a 24 hour period. Most of the time I spend on Facebook these days are on groups I belong to and messaging close friends and family. Even with that, it’s only for a few moments, not hours like once before. Of course since I have a blog, I do post my links on my page since that’s just what you have to do to keep up readership, but again, nothing excessive. I tend to spend the majority of the day with my son which is important to me since he won’t be little for very long.

I’m just glad to say that I’m happy where I’m at right now. I didn’t think I’d ever be addicted to something like Facebook, but I’m glad I am slowly getting over it. Lately I find that the more I let go of my life on social media, the happier I am. I just hope I can continue this trend because there’s definitely more to life than Facebook.

6 Responses to “The Facebook Fast”

  1. Michelle Liew November 11, 2013 at 5:50 am #

    Not easy with FB, I know. Sometimes it takes drastic measures to keep oneself off! Thanks for sharing with us!

    • basicallyb November 11, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      Thanks everyone for stopping by & reading too. It wasn’t easy to cut back time on Facebook but I’m glad I did. I definitely get more things done since doing so. No withdrawals or side effects yet :)

  2. elleroy was here (@modmomelleroy) November 11, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    It’s so easy to get sucked into the Facebook vortex. The fridge analogy is spot on. I do it too and I get so bummed out when I start comparing my “Likes” to others’. Facebook can just suck the life out of a person. I wish I had the courage to pull the plug too. Where there many withdrawal side effects? lol

  3. Divorced Kat (@1stYrDivorce) November 11, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I totally hear you. It’s easy to get addicted to Facebook. And the thing is that people only tend to post the good stuff — no one says, “Just had a wretched fight with my best friend” or “I have ranging diarrhea.” It’s lots of “My husband gave me flowers for no reason!” and “Can’t wait for Paris!” It’s easy to get kind of bummed out if you’re comparing to those Facebook fantasy worlds!!

  4. Lizzy - Muddle-Headed Mamma November 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Good on you for deactivating your account! I also got something akin to facebook ‘depession’ a couple of years ago and deactivated my account completely. My blog is only 6 months old, so I’ve never had facebook attached to it. I’m glad about that because I think I would be measuring my worth in terms of “likes” which is just silly and besides, there’s no way I’d have time for a blog and a facebook page. I have read on lots of different blogs that facebook is making bloggers unhappy. When something makes me unhappy, I banish it from my life! :)

    • basicallyb November 26, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words. I think that deactivating my account definitely helped me. Since then, I have no desire to be on Facebook all day like I once was. I really only go to post the link to my blog & to keep in touch w/ old friends & family. I’m just glad it’s not consuming me anymore.

Leave a Reply

