FTSF: When I was a little kid, I thought….

7 Nov


When I was younger, I thought if I swing really high & jumped off at the height of my swinging, I could be catapulted to the moon! I even drew a diagram of the whole thing, in red crayon as I recall. I really wish my parents kept the drawing cuz I thought it was pretty neat. I mean, what 6 year old thinks of these things?

Maybe it was because we started learning about outer space in school. About how there’s no gravity in space which, let’s face it, sounds pretty fun to a little kid, just floating around the stars without a care.  It was at that point that I wanted to go to space myself. The moon didn’t seem too far. If I held my hand out, it would cover it. So a high jump to the moon was possible, right?

As crazy as it sounds, I would try this theory several times. I remember it so well. For a whole week, I’d hop into my swing late in the afternoon when the moon would rise. I would just keep staring at the moon as I swung higher and higher. I thought my plan was foolproof & if I concentrated hard enough, I’d actually shoot straight up to the moon. When I realized it wouldn’t work, I remember feeling more confused than discouraged. Thankfully, I didn’t break any bones in the process, but it did teach me how to be brave enough to jump off the swing when it’s at its highest point.

I know Andrew is still a little guy, but I wonder what kind of things he’ll think of with that wild imagination of childhood. I will try my best to keep a lot of his childhood sketches. Maybe he won’t be as sentimental as his mama, but maybe one day he’ll want to look back on the wonderful things he dreamed of when he was a little kid too.

 

Join us at Finish the Sentence Friday & share the fun things you thought of when you were little.

Finish the Sentence Friday
15 Responses to “FTSF: When I was a little kid, I thought….”

  1. Janine Huldie November 8, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    We had a swing set in our backyard growing up, too. And I remember swinging as high as I could and the rush I would get before jumping off. I never thought to try to catch the moon, but still jumping off at the high level was pretty fun. Totally forgotten about that until reading your post. So thanks for bringing back that memory and for linking up again with us today!! :)

  2. findingninee November 8, 2013 at 5:32 am #

    Aw! I love that you thought you could go to the moon! Makes perfect sense to me! And yeah, I keep my son’s art as well. Maybe more for me than for him but just in case he wants to look back, he will be able to. Lovely post!

    • basicallyb November 8, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words & for stopping by once again. I’m so glad to hear a lot of you keep your kid’s art work!

  3. kellylmckenzie November 8, 2013 at 8:56 am #

    Yes to keeping the drawings. I have a box for both my kids (now 18 and 19) that contains special drawings, comments etc. So glad I did that. They love to peek at it now and then and it brings back memories by the bucketfull. When I was little I thought we could fit all the people in the world into our house. No, it wasn’t huge – I just thought that we’d have everyone lie on their sides and we could stack them to the ceiling…

    • basicallyb November 8, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      I’m glad to hear you kept all your kids’ things! Also that’s a cute childhood imagination you had there!

  4. kenyagjohnson November 8, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Geez I have a whole file drawer of art. We are only eight years in. I suppose it slows down ;-) I remember wanting to catapult off the swing but I was never brave enough to let go.

    • basicallyb November 8, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      I’m glad you’re keeping all the artwork!

  5. Chris at Hye Thyme Cafe November 8, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    OMG, you’re lucky you didn’t break a leg doing that! When I was little, I always wanted to swing so hard I’d swing right over the top. That never worked out since the legs of the set would start to pull out of the ground before I could get that much momentum going. Bummer! ;) [#FTSF]

    • basicallyb November 8, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      you know, I recall if i swung really high, the legs of the set would start to come out of the ground which prompted my dad to fasten the swing set down with stakes.

  6. Lizzi; Considerer (@LRConsiderer) November 8, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Swinging in the evening, while the sun-warmed air was chilling and the sky turned paler and paler and began to fade as the stars became apparent. And the scent of roses spilling out of the flowers and perfuming the breeze, knowing, even as I grew cooler, that it would soon be time to go in and have a warm bath and go to bed. Meantime the neighbours began to populate their gardens, with the noise of glasses clinking and people murmuring, and the darkness beginning to fall…

    A sudden flash of memory there, from your swinging post, and quite a gift. Thank you.

    • basicallyb November 8, 2013 at 6:20 pm #

      This is by far one of the most beautiful comments I’ve ever received on my blog. Thank you for sharing your memory & I’m glad I was able to jog it for you too!

  7. april November 8, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    Hi there. Thanks for finding me;) I kind of thought the same thing; that if you swung high enough, that would/could swing (go over) the top of the swing set (sorry, does that make sense?). Have a great wknd.

    • basicallyb November 8, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

      I remember a lot of my friends had the same thought of going over the top of the swing set & would keep trying to do it too! Thanks for stopping by.

  8. canigetanotherbottleofwhine November 11, 2013 at 7:14 am #

    I remember many of my thoughts as a child and they seem so real and so bizarre at the same time. Enjoyed taking a peek into your imagination. I’d love to know some of the things my kids imagine that they don’t tell me about. :-)

    • basicallyb November 11, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Oh yeah it’s crazy how our imaginations once were when we were younger. I wonder what my son will imagine as well!

Leave a Reply

