Monday Listicles: Our Halloween

3 Nov

Well, my favorite month and one of my most favorite holidays are now behind us. I’ve always loved October. Growing up on the east coast, it meant a change in weather, a change in the color of the leaves, raking, and jumping into the pile, carving pumpkins, Halloween, and of course, trick or treat.

Now that I’ve transplanted to California, that crisp October feeling only exists in the mornings. However, I’ve always strived to keep October as festive as I did back east since I do consider it the start of the best time of the year. Here’s our Halloween in a list of 10.

1) After finally watching Despicable Me, I decided that Andrew would be a minion. The characters were so cute, and the costume was easy to make.

2) After gathering up some supplies the weekend before Halloween, I got to work on Andrew’s costume. Just a simple patch covering the large Osh Kosh logo on his overalls & replacing it with a “G” like the minions wear in the movie was just the special touch he needed.

3) The hubs helped as well. He made the minion goggle out of a Ball jar lid, some craft foam, felt, a googly eye & headband.

4) Yes, Andrew managed not to swat the minion goggle off his face as we strolled around a local Halloween carnival admiring all the costumes.

5) We tried to get Andrew to play with pumpkin guts, but he was more interested in crumpling up the newspaper placed under the pumpkin to catch any of the mess that never happened.

6) I made a little trick or treat bag for Andrew in my mommy & me class. Goldfish seem to be THE snack. He got at least 5 packets of it…not that I’m complaining.

7) The hubs once again insisted on closing the gate & the lights on Halloween so we wouldn’t have to pass out candy.

8) We filmed Andrew walking for a minute in his costume. This is huge considering just a few weeks ago, he wouldn’t take more than 4 steps at a time; now he can pull himself up unassisted.

9) I’m sad Halloween is over, but I’m already looking forward to next year.

10) Speaking of next year, Andrew may already be old enough to let me know what he wants to dress up as. I wonder what he’ll say.

How was your Halloween? Join us at Monday Listicles!

4 Responses to “Monday Listicles: Our Halloween”

  1. Robbie November 3, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Sounds like a great Hallween

  2. Stacey (@Staceysmoments) November 4, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    What a fun Halloween. My littlest was old enough to tell us he wanted to be “Sup-a- man” this year! I really love it when they start to talk! I bet your little guy was an adorable minion!

  3. jamie@southmainmuse November 4, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    Yes — when they get older they definitely have an idea of what they want to be. The only problem is that is sometimes changes three or four times.

  4. Holly @ The Inspired Home November 4, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Minions seemed to be the costume of choice this year! Your Halloween carnival sounds like fun.

Leave a Reply

