FTSF: The Halloween Tantrum

25 Oct

Let me tell you the story of the great Halloween tantrum. Folks, I’m not talking about my son…. I’m talking about yours truly.

Let me take you back to first grade. My school held their Halloween party in the gym each year. I can still picture all the black & orange streamers on the walls along with the cobwebs & skeletons. There was always a line for the haunted house….which was really just the backstage area of the stage where we’d have our Christmas & spring plays. There were carnival type games, and of course a lot of food. Ah, the days when we weren’t nut free. Our parents would bring in goodies & we’d brag to our classmates about how our parent was a better baker than yours. It was such a fun party.

That is, until the costume contest. Yeah that’s right, as we were running around the gym high on sugar, our teachers were seeing which one of us had the best costume. I remember I was a tiger that year. It was a store bought costume but I loved it a lot. I still remember my mom painted whiskers on my face, a nice touch.

For some reason, I thought that my little store bought costume would win. When I found out that I had lost to my best friend who was dressed as one of the fairies in Sleeping Beauty in a handmade costume, I about lost it! I remember I kept telling my mom over & over again “It’s not fair! It’s not fair!” Other kids in my class were also crying because they didn’t win. Maybe a contest wasn’t such a good idea for kids so young after all!

I do remember that after that whole crying fiasco, all future costume contest winners were announced discretely, maybe the crying had something to do with it, maybe not.

That was my most embarrassing Halloween moment. In hindsight, it wasn’t so bad compared to what it could have been, especially during those horrendous middle school years! As traumatized as I may have been during that first grade party, I still went every year. From that point on, I just remembered all the fun I had which I think is the most important thing.

Want to share your favorite memory? Join us at Finish the Sentence Friday!

Finish the Sentence Friday
5 Responses to “FTSF: The Halloween Tantrum”

  1. Janine Huldie October 25, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    Definitely sounds like they did change the policy after all the kids that were crying. Seriously though I have two little kids now and they always want to be the winner (their words), so I don’t think you reacted any differently then most little kids would. So, they were right to do announce the winner privately. Thank you for sharing this and for linking up with us again this week. And Happy almost Halloween :)

  2. Lizzy - Muddle-Headed Mamma October 25, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    haha oh no, you poor thing, you shouldn’t be embarrassed! Those kind of things are HUGE when you’re little! I agree that they shouldn’t judge the costumes of really little kids though, because they really have no control over what their costume looks like, it’s all decided for them. It’s funny how kids that got shop bought costumes often wished they had home-made ones and vice versa! I love it that you guys bragged over whose mums were better at baking too!

  3. findingninee October 25, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    It so sucks when we know we’re the best and somebody else wins for real. As a mom of a boy who may never again have a homemade costume? I feel this. Big.

  4. Sarah October 26, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    Competition’s tough for little ones. I love all your happy memories of that party, though.

  5. Kelly McKenzie November 2, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Sorry it took me so long to toddle over and read your post. Grade one! Bless you. That must have been quite the delight for the teachers too. Winners all happy-happy and the non-winners all weeping. Would have loved to have been a fly on the walls in their homes that night.

Leave a Reply

