Monday Listicles: Food That Remind Me of Childhood

13 Oct

This is my first time participating in Monday Listicles. I’m so glad to find these lists & prompts all over the blogoverse because it helps me when I have writer’s block and I also love reading what others wrote. This top 10 is very near & dear to my heart since it’s all about food, one of my favorite topics. I love food so much because it’s what brings people together. I still remember so many Sunday dinners I had with my extended family growing up. Just simple food, nothing fancy, but the memories are still there. I’m so glad Andrew is starting to eat table food. I know it’s too early for him to remember, but I hope that in time, he’ll also have memories of food that remind him of home.

So, here’s my Top 10 Foods that Remind Me of Childhood

1) Chicken Adobo- There’s just something about this savory aroma of soy sauce, vinegar, bay leaves, and pepper that makes me feel so cozy. I’ve had this meal countless times growing up. I’m so glad my mom passed this recipe onto me. My roommates in college would always say the apartment smelled so good when that pot of adobo would be braising away on the stove. I’ve also made it a few times when I lived on my own and of course now for my husband & my son who loves it.

2) Matzo Ball Soup- This was a common snack I’d have at my best friend’s house from elementary through high school. Her family was like my second family since I was over her house so much.  That warm soup after a crazy day of school always made me feel better.

3) New York Pizza- You know it’s good New York Pizza when the oil goes through the bottom of the box and drips onto your plate when you fold it in half. A few pizza places come close but you can’t beat the real thing. I always make sure to grab a slice of NY pizza when I go to visit my family.

4) New York Hot Dogs- I really don’t care how dirty that hot dog water is. Seriously. Trust me, I’m the biggest germaphobe around, but not when it comes to these bad boys. I will only eat hot dogs from those vendor carts too. Other than that, it’s really nothing special, at least to me!

5) Arroz Caldo- This is a Filipino version of chicken porridge with rice. It’s made with plenty of garlic and helps when you’re feeling under the weather. I just remember how comforted I felt whenever I was given this to eat when I wasn’t feeling so good.

6) Baked Chicken- This was one of the first meals I learned how to make. It’s definitely one I can whip up when I’m at a loss for what to cook these days.

7) Corned Beef Hash- This was a staple in my family for breakfast. I wish I could eat as much as I did back then for sure!

8) Scrambled Eggs & Garlic Fried Rice- My mom always made these the best. I’ve tried to recreate it but it’s not as close!

9) Pork Chops- Again, something so simple that my mom cooked so well but I’m still not able to recreate!

10) Sundaes from Friendly’s- Ah Friendly’s, the old timey diner like restaurant. I know they had diner type food like patty melts & whatnot, but for me it was all about the ice cream! I remember my parents would take us here for a treat. I just wish more of these restaurants were around today.

So there’s my top 10. What are some foods that remind you of your childhood?

Click on the image to read some more lists & add your own!

 

12 Responses to “Monday Listicles: Food That Remind Me of Childhood”

  1. Karen October 14, 2013 at 2:30 am #

    Now living in CT I can tell you NOTHING beats NY pizza…NOTHING…it’s the best hands down. Oh man, I do love matzoh ball soup…and hot dogs, and adobe chicken….great now I am so flipping hungry for all this at 5 in the morning. LOL

    • basicallyb October 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      Hehe, I just read your list now & I just ate dinner but I could go for some mussels!

  2. Wayne October 14, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    Pork chops are amazingly difficult to get right aren’t they? Great list all around. Have a happy week!

    • basicallyb October 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

      Thanks! Have a great week & yes, how could something so simple be so tough to get right?

  3. Stacey (@Staceysmoments) October 14, 2013 at 7:48 am #

    Homemade lasagna is the one food that always reminds me of my childhood. My Mom is a great cook! I, however, did not inherit her skill in the kitchen.

    • basicallyb October 14, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

      My mom was a great cook too! I’m glad to say I inherited some of her talent, but I definitely didn’t inherit her awesome palate though!

  4. Ally October 14, 2013 at 7:52 am #

    Mmmm, my mouth was watering at several of the foods on your list. And it’s still early! The mouth watering started with chicken adobo, which I love.

    • basicallyb October 14, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      Well I’m glad the post whet your appetite! :)

  5. Robbie October 14, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    I had some NY pizza when I visited a few years ago and it definitely lived up to the hype. Not so sure I am brave enough to try a NY hot dog though.

    • basicallyb October 14, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

      awww the NY hot dog is fine! I promise you won’t get horribly ill!

  6. Leslie October 15, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    I love seeing all the recipes from childhood….yours were definitely very different from what I grew up with! But the adobo and caldo sound delicious! We actually have a Friendly’s around the corner from us. I was so surprised when I saw it…I thought they had closed down!

    • basicallyb October 20, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

      Thanks. Yeah the adobo & caldo are pretty good. :) Glad to hear there’s still a Friendly’s!

Leave a Reply

