Fun with milk jugs

2 Oct

Andrew has been very clingy lately. It’s to the point where I’ve played with him all morning, read to him, fed him, but he still wants my attention. I couldn’t figure out what to do. He’s not walking yet, so the park is a no go right now. We go on walks , I read to him & I rotate his toys. A few of my friends suggested making a sensory bin. I made the simplest bin ever. A large storage tub filled with baby cereal and measuring cups. Sure it kept his attention for a bit, but it was messy! That & I was worried the dog would get to it.

I came across a wonderful blog that had SO many creative ideas for activities with children. It really amazes me how creative people can be. Most of the time I wonder why I didn’t think of something so simple.

In the end, at least in my experience, kids are more drawn to simple things than the flashy toy with all the bells & whistles. Heck, I remember my parents got a new fridge when I was about 4 years old. They saved that huge box it came in & cut out some squares in it for windows. There’s pictures of me playing in that box, pretending it was a house. I remember feeling really sad when it was finally time to throw that make believe house out.

So with that being said, it was no surprise to me that Andrew likes playing with things that aren’t toys. He loves playing with boxes, the box of diaper wipes, straws, and plastic cups. So this little craft I made for him was a big hit.

I washed out a gallon milk jug, let it dry, and cut a big hole in the top and on the side. Then, I put some of his small toys in it, including some mesh feeders that got repurposed. I only had to demonstrate how to use the toy once and he was all over it.

IMG_0974 IMG_0975 IMG_0978

It didn’t take him long to get the hang of using his brand new toy. He also let out a few squeals and giggles as he played. Like I said, I’m glad the simple things amuse him. Please check out The Imagination Tree to make your own milk jug toy. I know I’ll be checking it out for more ideas!

7 Responses to “Fun with milk jugs”

  1. karen October 9, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    what a great idea…I so simple and cheap…

    • basicallyb October 22, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

      It’s crazy how the little ones will play with the simplest stuff.

  2. An Ideal Mom October 21, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I just discovered The Imagination Tree too. Great site. It is amazing how the simplest things can be the most entertaining. I often say we should just give our kids the boxes and put the toys away for later!

    • basicallyb October 22, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

      You know, that’s a really good idea!

  3. Bonnie Frank October 22, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    Thanks so much for posting this! It is a wonderful idea and can be used again and again with different toys. I made an “indoor sandbox” for my son when he was a toddler. I took a large plastic bin, filled it with dried oatmeal and then put in some cups, measuring cups, spoons, and toy trucks. I kept it on top of the fridge (with a top on it) and tokk it down on snowy or super cold days.

    • basicallyb October 22, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by. I really like this indoor sandbox idea!

  4. Natasha @ Epic Mommy Adventures October 22, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    So creative! And one that would definitely work for my son at that age! It’s amazing what will entertain little children.

    Thanks so much for sharing on Turn It Up Tuesdays! We love having you! :)

Leave a Reply

