FTSF: My most favorite summer memory

12 Sep

I can’t believe summer is practically over. Sure we have until the 21st, but to me, once school starts, that’s pretty much the end of it. It seems like we took our trip to the east coast so long ago, but that to me would have to be my favorite summertime memory hands down. 

If I had to narrow down to a specific event on our east coast trip, it would definitely have to be when Andrew met his great grandma and got to celebrate her 95th birthday. My grandma may be 95, but she’s still very spunky & sassy. When asked the secret to her longevity, she said, “When the doctor tells me to stay home, I don’t, and when he tells me not to eat something, I do.” And boy does she go out. She’s very involved with the senior citizen center where she sings in their chorus and plays piano. She even did the hula for many years. I know that sounds weird, but she explained that they teach seniors that dance to help with their hips. She often tells a story of how a lady in her group wanted to learn the hula & got around by walker. After a few weeks, she went from using a walker to a cane, so I guess it does help.

I just loved seeing my grandma play with Andrew. Andrew was very cautious with other people holding him, but he was perfectly fine with my grandma, which I loved. I always knew my grandma liked children, but I especially saw it when she played with Andrew. I’m glad I got to take plenty of pictures of their interaction, and I hope that he gets to see her again soon. In the meantime, we have Skype. While it’s obviously not the same as her physically holding Andrew, at least she’ll get to see him. It’s been 3 months since my vacation and I already want to go back. 

What was your favorite summertime memory?

6 Responses to “FTSF: My most favorite summer memory”

  1. Janine Huldie September 12, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

    Wonderful memory!! My grandmother got to see my first, but passed away when she was only 6 months old. I cherish the time she got to be around my little girl and only wish she could have met my second, too. But so glad you have this memory of your grandmother with Andrew and does sound like she has a lot of spunk, too!! Thank you for linking up with us again and sharing this!! :)

    • basicallyb September 15, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      I’m sorry for your loss but I’m glad she at least got to see your daugther!

  2. findingninee September 12, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    What a lovely summertime memory! And I love how your grandmother eats what she’s not supposed to!!!

    • basicallyb September 15, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Yeah my grandma has always been the sassy one. I’ll be happy if I’m half as sassy as she is when I’m old.

  3. Lizzi; Considerer (@LRConsiderer) September 13, 2013 at 6:41 am #

    That’s really gorgeous – family memories can be the BEST ones ever :) So glad they enjoyed that time together.

    • basicallyb September 15, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Thank you! Yup, simple family memories. Nothing high tech. It’s great!

Leave a Reply

