Finish the sentence Friday

9 Aug

 

FTSF: I have a bad habit of…

Man oh man, this week’s sentence was made just for me. I am the queen of procrastinators, especially when it comes to crafting. It never fails, I’ll somehow end up at Michaels or Jo-Anns & get inspired by all the cool crafting kits and think to myself “Hey, I can do that!” which always tend to be my famous last words. I can’t tell you how many projects of mine are just on my shelves collecting dust, some not even opened yet!

The worst for me is scrapbooking. I’m a very sentimental person. On every trip I’ve taken, I’ve collected all the ticket stubs, maps, and what have you. I put it in my little scrapbook box for later and when later comes, I find myself too overwhelmed to even touch the pile. The only time I finished a scrapbook was while watching the last NBA Finals where the Lakers won. I don’t know why that was either, maybe the fast commentary motivated me? Who knows? I commend all you crafty types, but I just don’t have the patience. I’ve taken to just buying photo albums, sticking my pictures in & putting the stubs & such alongside them. Yes, I’ve also taken the easier route & had Shutterfly do the hard work for me, and I just paste all the memorabilia once the album gets to me.

Almost there! The needlepoint I've been working on since college.

Almost there! The needlepoint I’ve been working on since college.

I also needlepoint from time to time. I’ve been working on one since college that still remains unfinished. I’d just do a few stitches & get bored with it and forget about it for years. I am happy to say that I’ve made some progress.

A finished cross stitch for Andrew!

A finished cross stitch for Andrew!

Since my son was born, I’ve finished a handmade Christmas stocking and two cross stitch projects. I know it’s only August, but I have another Christmas stocking needlepoint underway. I’m such a procrastinator that the earlier the better. Although I finished the last project, I started it late (surprise!) and finished it the day after Christmas. Definitely don’t want that to happen this year.

Sometimes I feel added pressure to finish a project since my in laws are THE craftiest people I know. I’m not kidding. Their houses have framed needlepoint projects on the walls that I had mistaken for professional work, along with paintings. Every woman in that family is so crafty. I know we each have our own talents but damn, it just makes me want to try harder. At least it looks like I turned the corner with my projects for my son. I just hope I don’t jinx that!

11 Responses to “Finish the sentence Friday”

  1. Shanique Roca (@Le_Willow_Wimp) August 9, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    I think you’re stealing my title :P I am the same as you when it comes to procrastinating :) I don’t even want to remind myself of the bright idea that I had to start crocheting. The needles are buried deep in a box somewhere along with the yarn.

    • basicallyb August 10, 2013 at 7:07 am #

      I think it’s safe to say there’s a number of us crafty procrastinators :)

  2. Janine Huldie August 9, 2013 at 8:17 am #

    I can totally procrastinate too, but man I am jealous of your crafting skills. You really did a beautiful job on that finished cross stitch procrastinating and all! Thanks for linking up with us as always and loved seeing a bit of your work here!! :)

    • basicallyb August 10, 2013 at 7:07 am #

      Thanks so much! I appreciate the compliment! Like I said, my inlaws are pros, so it’s nice for this underdog to get kind words :)

  3. findingninee August 9, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I’m not very crafty at all but did start some scrapbooks when my son was born. I rocked them for two years. He’s four now and all memories from age two on are sitting in a box, waiting for me to get motivated to do something with them. Love that you made that bear cross stitch! To me, that’s mega-crafty!!!

    • basicallyb August 10, 2013 at 7:04 am #

      Thanks so much & the other thing besides basketball that got me motivated to scrapbook was getting a group together to do it. It was definitely less tedious!

  4. ruchira August 9, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Wow…you are so talented.

    I used to embroider earlier now…gotta get that to it…let’s see!

  5. Betty Taylor August 9, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    I love scrapbooking. The big problem is getting all the stuff out to work on it. I even have a room but when I start on my scrapbook I need to have everything out. So when I clean it all up I don’t want to get everything out again. I like it clean! Right before my son’s graduation I had everything spread around 2 rooms and worked on his scrapbooks for 2 weeks straight. I got quite a lot done.

    • basicallyb August 10, 2013 at 7:03 am #

      I agree on hauling all the stuff out to work on! Love your determination to finish!

  6. RambleSAHM (@RambleSAHM) August 20, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Oh my goodness this is so me! I must stay out of Hobby Lobby because I seriously think I can do it and then bring it home and it is never finished! Kudos to you for trying finish stuff!

Leave a Reply

