The Gym and the Water Bottle

5 Aug

Can we talk a minute about the gym?

Nope, not about the people who get dolled up before they go, not about worrying if you’re good enough.

Nope. I’d like to talk to you about the water bottle.

Yes, this little work out accessory has been driving me crazy.

I’ve been taking group exercise classes at the gym for years now & while I can pretty much block everyone else out & focus on the workout, the one thing that still drives me batty is the water bottle.

Why?

Because it seems like I’m the only one that uses it. It never fails. Everyone walks into the group ex room, towel & water bottle in tow, ready to sweat.

But it feels like I’m the only one in the room that takes a sip every now & again. Am I really working with super heroes? Are those water bottles even full in the first place? I wish I was kidding. I’ve been going to all sorts of classes: kickboxing, yoga, weight training, barre, and the hardest class I’ve ever taken, reformer pilates. And yes, I’m the only one who takes a swig.

Body image doesn’t bother me one bit, but the stamina thing does. Every time I stop to take a sip during the workout, people look at me like I’m a crazy person. Isn’t this normal? Don’t they preach for you to stay hydrated during your workout? Water is important, right? So why does everyone including the instructor look at me like I’ve grown a second head when I’m doing just the thing that all these experts have been talking about for years? I’ve lived on both coasts, it doesn’t matter where I am, I have yet to see someone else in class pause for a minute to take a breather. Sometimes I wonder if I signed up for a gym that caters to Olympic athletes. Then again, they drink water too, so maybe these people are immortal.

How bout you? Do you workout alongside all of these superheroes, like I do? I swear their water bottles are just props!

Leave a Reply

