FTSF: The best and worst parts of blogging….

26 Jul

This post couldn’t have come at a better time. I’m really struggling getting this blog off the ground. I started my food blog four years ago and it’s crazy how much I forgot how much work it takes to get things started.

So, the best part of blogging for me, is meeting other bloggers. When I started my food blog, my main goal was just to have a place to put all my restaurant reviews in the event that Yelp would go belly up. What I didn’t realize is that PR people would start contacting me asking me to review restaurants. I still don’t know how they find my little blog on the big internet, but it’s been fun putting faces to blogs over the past few years. I only hope I can meet other mom bloggers. It’s always fun getting to know other people who share the same passion as you.

I touched on the worst part of blogging. Right now I’m struggling with getting traffic to my site. With my food blog, it only took two months for me to get traffic without lifting a finger. Unfortunately, unless I’m the one promoting my baby blog, no one reads it. Even with that being said, it hurts that I have 150 facebook friends & only 5 hits to the blog when I post the link. Sometimes I wonder if it’s worth it. I don’t blog to get famous. I’m just blogging to document my life as a new mama. At the same time, I wish I had a nice following, even if it’s small. Otherwise, I feel like I’m talking to a wall. Yes, I’ve done all the SEO & site map stuff and nothing has changed. It’s become super frustrating. I try not to think about it. Anyways, thank you, all 3 of you for listening to me.

7 Responses to “FTSF: The best and worst parts of blogging….”

  1. Janine Huldie July 26, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    Oh don’t give up or throw the towel in Bianca. I think we have all had these feelings and moments. Seriously, please know you aren’t alone. And you are right blogging isn’t easy, but it definitely has its perk like for me getting to do these linkups and getting to know other bloggers like yourself better. I really hope you keep on plugging along and thank you for linking this up to us!

    • basicallyb July 26, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      I really love participating in FTSF. It’s been a lot of fun & I love how everyone is so active with it. Thanks for reading once again :)

  2. Chris at Hye Thyme Cafe July 26, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    I’m not a Mom myself, so not likely to stop by here often, but I am a food blogger. You mentioned that you have a food blog as well, but I don’t see reference to it on your About page, etc. Do you still have that blog, or you gave up in favor of Mommy blogging? That would be completely understandable given the amount of time it takes, but if it’s still up and running, I’d love to check it out … ?

    • basicallyb July 26, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      You know, when I started this blog, I had planned to retire my food blog, but I still write over there from time to time. Definitely not as aggressive about it as before, but thanks for reminding me. I’ll be sure to edit the About page :) You can check me out at southbayrantsnraves.com . Thanks for stopping by :)

  3. Karen July 28, 2013 at 3:55 am #

    I hear you babe. I gave up on two other blogs before this one..it’s rough getting started…but don’t give up babe. Little by little it all clicks.

    I find commenting on as many posts as I can gets me replies and more visits…it does take time…going to follow you now and visit you babe.

    • basicallyb July 28, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      Thanks for understanding. I appreciate it :)

  4. Lizzi Rogers July 28, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Yes…I’m with you on the facebook thing. I have a bunch of friends who ‘liked’ the page, but I think they did it to be nice rather than because they particularly wanted to. But keep making community over here and you’ll get there in the end – you know already it’s hard work :)

Leave a Reply

