FTSF: Fourth of July & My Florida Vacation

28 Jun

I may be the odd one out, but the July 4th weekend was never a huge deal. I spent every July 4th from the time I was 8 to the time I was 17 at Disneyland. However, the one July 4th that sticks out was the one we were in Boston for back in 2010. We saw the harbor fireworks at a nearby park & listened to the Boston Pops on the radio. Maybe it was because we were so close to the real thing, but that day was the one that sticks out.

Speaking of summer, I visited Florida for the first time in 4 years. Here are just some of my observations

– I forgot how humid Florida is. I know some of you may be saying “well, duh!” but seriously… after living just miles from the beach where the marine layer drops the temperature a significant amount in the morning & evening, going to an area with little breeze & air so dense you could cut it with a knife, I start to wonder how the heck I put up with it for so long when I lived out there

– I miss the slower pace of life that exists in Florida

– I miss people being friendly. The cashier striking up a conversation with me as she rings up my purchases, a random person at the mall commenting on my FSU shirt, these things are very rare out in Cali unfortunately.

– I now appreciate how refreshing a cool pool feels on a hot & sticky day.

We had a great time in Florida. It was so much fun visiting family & friends. Times like this makes me wish we all lived in the same place again.

5 Responses to “FTSF: Fourth of July & My Florida Vacation”

  1. Janine Huldie June 28, 2013 at 5:50 pm #

    Oh happy you had a great visit and your 4th of July memory in Boston sounded just lovely and thank you for linking up with us again!! :)

    • basicallyb June 28, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by once again :)

  2. canigetanotherbottleofwhine June 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    My 4ths were pretty uneventful too. I mean, they were eventful, but always the same events. Nothing huge. Thanks for linking up!

  3. Karen June 29, 2013 at 5:21 am #

    OMG…the slowness of Florida always drives me mad, LOL…I’d die with the humidity…But glad you had a nice visit

  4. Karen June 29, 2013 at 5:22 am #

    doh…not sure if my comment went through…grrr…i need coffee. OMG, the slowness of Florida drives me mad woman…but so does the humidity. THough I am glad you had a great vacation.

Leave a Reply

