FTSF: The hardest part of my day is….

13 Jun

The hardest part of my day is when my son is super fussy & inconsolable & I don’t have help. I’m thankful that my son has been an easy going baby so far, but every baby has his day. When my husband is home, he helps out so much, but it really sucks not having family nearby. I just can’t call my dad, or my in laws & ask them to come over to help me since they live across the country. I’m glad I joined a lot of play groups so that my son can burn off some energy & I can connect with other moms. Sure, the play groups only last a few hours, but it’s better than nothing.

It’s a cliche, but it really does take a village to raise a child. I was always the one who hated asking for help. I prefer to do things on my own because I don’t like the feeling of owing anyone anything. However, when you have a baby & you’re exhausted from taking care of him and have no time for yourself, a little help never helped.

So for those pregnant friends & readers of mine, I will reiterate what I was told when I was pregnant but totally ignored: do NOT be afraid to ask for help! Also, make some meals & freeze them a few weeks before you have the baby. Again, I thought I could do it all. I laughed off the thought of making meals beforehand because I didn’t think it’d be hard to make some meals while taking care of a newborn. I was wrong. I’m glad my husband’s company sent us a month worth of frozen meals, but I wish I had made some meals as well because we were back to the drawing board after they ran out.

I hope my advice can help at least one other mama. I also hope they realize that they’re not alone when it comes to their frustrations when taking care of an infant.

7 Responses to “FTSF: The hardest part of my day is….”

  1. Janine Huldie June 13, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    Bianca, you said a mouthful here and can tell you that I remember all too well those fussy times and how they really were just miserable when my gils were babies. I was one of the lucky ones though with help from both my own mom and my mother-in-law, too. And you are right don’t be too proud to ask for help, sometimes you really just need it!! Thank you for linking up with us and hope you will join us again!!

  2. Stephanie Sprenger June 13, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    You are SO right- new mamas should not be afraid to ask for help. And it definitely takes a village! You are a wise mama if you have figured this out already! Thanks for linking up!

  3. Jean June 13, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    Absolutely agree. It takes a village, one with a lot of food. By the second baby, I realized the food thing and I froze a ton of dishes. You can’t get it all right the first time :)

  4. Julie DeNeen June 14, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Hey! Love the photo of you on the sidebar! :) So cute! I know that feeling all too well. It’s horrible to feel helpless.

  5. Considerer June 14, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Yeah, it’s true about needing lots of people. And I think maybe that’s why it’s ok that Husby and I can’t have kids at the moment – he needs to be well first so that he can be one of the people in the village, as it were.

  6. Lisa @ The Golden Spoons June 14, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Great advice!! When my oldest was a baby, she cried from about 7-10pm every evening for about 3 months. It was awful and exhausting.

    • basicallyb June 15, 2013 at 6:17 am #

      Thanks everyone for your kind words! I know I was a little too late with some of the things I did during that newborn stage, but I hope I can help at least one new mom out.

Leave a Reply

