FTSF: When I was younger, I wanted to…

16 May

This sentence is so vague to me. I guess that’s a good thing because I have several answers.

In first grade, I remember that all the girls in my class & I wanted to be nurses & all the boys wanted to be firefighters or police officers. I recall that our teacher gave all of us life size nurse, fire fighter, or police hats made out of paper that we had to put together. I never pursued being a nurse. I think I just wanted to wear a pillbox hat now that I think about it.

In 7th grade Home Ec class, we had to make a photo collage describing what our lives would be like in the year 2009, 10 years after our college graduation. I wish my dad had held onto this because it’d be hilarious to see. Although I don’t have my collage anymore, I remember that I predicted I would have 3 kids (whuuuuut?) and I would be a professional figure skater and have a cat named Sammie. Well, first of all, I have NO idea what I was thinking. Three kids at 28? Yeah, SO not me. I just had my first at *cough* 31 and although he’s easy, he’s a handful. Much respect to the moms with 2 or more!

Nope, I didn’t become a professional figure skater. I didn’t even come close to making the Olympic team. So sad, I know. I did pick it back up again in 2010 after a *another cough* 20 year hiatus!

I’m can’t wait to see what Andrew says he wants to be at different stages of his life. I definitely want to keep better tabs on things than my parents and save as many of his school projects so he can look back on it when he’s grown up & laugh a bit.

6 Responses to “FTSF: When I was younger, I wanted to…”

  1. Janine Huldie May 16, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    Oh I can’t wait to see what my girls think they want to be as they are getting bigger now. And I am with you on that one totally. Thanks so much for linking up with us!! ;)

  2. Betty Taylor May 17, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    I am sure it will be fun to go through the levels of change with your son. I love hearing young children talk about what they are going to be. My young grandson recently decided to be a robber because he thought he wouldn’t have to learn to read.

  3. Dana May 17, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    I save all my kids’ musings on what the want to be when they grow up. My mom did too – I wanted to be a construction worker and a truck driver when I was in kindergarten. Didn’t pan out! So you’re not a figure skater, you have one child…do you have a cat named Sammie?

    • basicallyb May 19, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks all for your comments. I had a cat named Sammy growing up & I said my future one would be called Sammie in honor of the first. Thing is, I have a dog now named Sasha, so I did stick with the S theme.

  4. findingninee May 17, 2013 at 9:53 am #

    I wanted to be a nurse, too! Oh how I wish that your dad kept your collage because I’ll bet it was awesome. A figure skater, huh? (oh and I had my first and only kid at 40, if that makes you feel better)

  5. Jen May 17, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

    I agree about keeping track, my son has wanted to be so many things just this year! It might be nice to keep a notebook just chronicling that part of his life!

Leave a Reply

