Monday Musings

13 May

We had our first date night in a long time this past weekend. The previous date night we had was when Andrew was a month old. He turns 11 months this week so it was a long time coming. It was kinda weird being out, just the two of us. I’m glad the sitter only had Mat’s number because I know I’d be checking my phone compulsively all night. Well, the date night went really well on all fronts: tasty food, quality time with the hubs, and the sitter said Andrew was very good & didn’t really fuss after we left so I can’t complain.

I experienced my first Mother’s Day & not to be a kill joy, but I was so underwhelmed by it. I’ve read plenty of blogs over the last week where moms have said they hope for a day off, a day to relax, etc. Now, I don’t want any of you throwing cyber tomatoes at me, but I get those things that mamas hope for on mother’s day, fairly often. Mat has been the one to watch Andrew while I go skate, and I run some errands on the way back from the rink. He also watches Andrew when I get my hair done, or a facial. So, nothing out of the ordinary. Mother’s Day was just another day to me.

Yesterday morning was the first time I realized that Andrew looks more like a little boy than a baby. I can’t believe how fast he’s changing. He’s definitely a quiet kid. There’s other babies who, around his age crawl like crazy and are very outgoing. I notice that Andrew is a thinker. He plays quietly. He’s cruising and crawling around but I feel like he takes everything in. Nothing wrong with that. He just takes after his mom & dad. Maybe more so his dad since he’s the laid back one.

We got him a new toy, one of those walker carts. He’s still trying to figure it out. He pushes it forward almost as far as his little arms let him, then he just takes two steps forward & sits back down. He has until 15 months to walk so we’re in no hurry!

Well, that’s what’s going on with my family. Hope you all have a great week.

4 Responses to “Monday Musings”

  1. Joy May 14, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    Date night sounds good. It is not easy at first but it gets better.

    Great that your husband takes over so many things and lets you do stuff like skating or facials!

    • basicallyb May 15, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      It’s comforting when I hear “it gets better” I am looking forward to the parents’ night out that the kiddie gyms do so we can drop off little man when he’s a bit older.

  2. lisanewlin May 14, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    I’m glad you got away for a date night. It’s so good for your relationship! And I have a niece who turns 1 next week, and I STILL can’t believe it. Just this last week I mentioned the same thing you did….which is that she looks like a toddler now and not a baby.

    It’s both happy and sad. :-)

  3. basicallyb May 15, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Bittersweet for sure!

Leave a Reply

