Old School Blogging- Pop Culture

7 May

It’s time for the next monthly installment of Old School Blogging!

1.  What was one of your favorite shows as a kid?  Why?

First of all, let me tell you I grew up in a very strict home with no tv. With that being said, we would of course sneak & watch tv when my dad wasn’t home. So I liked all the Disney Afternoon shows and also Animaniacs. Forget prime time tv, except for TGIF. Full House & Family Matters were my favorites.
2. Which actress(es) do you see on the red carpet and kinda wish you could be for a day (or three)?

Sofia Vegara & Reese Witherspoon (minus the drunken rage)

3.  Which actor do you wish you could, um… hang out with? ;)

I’m awful. I don’t watch much tv at all these days, so I’m horrible with pop culture. Ask me back in high school & I would tell you Brad Pitt. Yes, 1997 Brad Pitt.
4. What is one (or two or some) of your favorite movies that you have seen in the last few years?
Being a new mama, the only movie I’ve seen this year was Oz the Great and Powerful which was pretty good. I also like The Help & Les Mis

5. Who is one celebrity out there now that you could totally do without? That you wish would just disappear?

The Kardashians & the Jersey Shore people.

6. Have you ever met a celebrity? If so, who? What did you say/do when you met them?

I used to work in a hotel that rhymed with chariot. A lot of the WWE wrestlers would stay there when they had matches in the area. I’ve met a whole bunch, they were super nice. I’ve also met Weird Al, who was a neat guy. Apolo Ohno & Kristin Chenoweth were pretty cool too. I guess I lucked out meeting nice people.

7.  Which shows do you look forward to watching every week?

Big Bang Theory, HIMYM (I admit I only watch for Barney these days because the show is dragging) Two Broke Girls, Hell’s Kitchen.

Okay, now it’s your turn!

12 Responses to “Old School Blogging- Pop Culture”

  1. Tamara Woods May 7, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    This one is a fun one! I think the guy I was in love with back in high school was Christian Slater. For yeeeeeears.

  2. Single Mom in the South May 7, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    My sister’s best friend growing up had NO tv in her house at all, so she couldn’t even sneak. As a result, if we turned the TV on when she came over, we couldn’t get her to do anything else! :-)

  3. findingninee May 7, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    We had very little TV growing up…but watched the Dukes of Hazzard (original). Also, if I could hang with an actor, it’d be Anthony Hopkins. I also met Peter Forsberg. He was cool. I posted about it here (and thanks for your comment today – glad I found you on G+). Here’s that post if you want to see! http://www.findingninee.com/celebrityme/

    • basicallyb May 8, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      Thanks for the link & for stopping by!

  4. Melissa@Home on Deranged May 7, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    It’s just gotta be the Kardashians. Is there anyone more annoying?
    We didn’t get to have tv either, and then it was black and white because my dad refused to cave. Once he did, however, we had every new electronic gadget that came out. Men.

    • basicallyb May 8, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one who wasn’t allowed to watch tv. Yes, my dad is like your dad. Wants every gadget now that we’re older.

  5. Elaine A. May 8, 2013 at 8:36 am #

    If I had met Kristin Chenoweth I would have made her sing for me! ha!

    And yeah, 1997 Brad Pitt was way hot! ;)

    Thanks for linking up!

    • basicallyb May 8, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      It was at the end of a flash mob! She sang a little bit for us :)

  6. juliahunter716 May 10, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    I mentioned TGIF in my post too, it was the best.

  7. Leigh Ann May 11, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    Looks like everyone wants to see the Kardashians go!

  8. Robbie May 26, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    LOVE 2 Broke Girls! I agree with HIMYM..though Barney is on my last nerve now. I think it’s jumped the shark but I can’t help myself.

    • basicallyb May 26, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Totally has jumped but I can’t look away.

Leave a Reply

