Goodbye Pump!

28 Apr
It's been real, pump.

It’s been real, pump.

Wow. Never thought I’d have that as a blog post. This is it. The end of an era. A milestone if you will. I returned the hospital grade pump. You probably are wondering why the heck am I writing a post about this equipment.

Well, Andrew was born a little early, at 37 and a half weeks. He didn’t have the suckle reflex yet, so I wasn’t able to nurse for a bit. Enter the pump. At first, I thought that pumping would be a lot easier than nursing. That couldn’t be farther from the truth. In the beginning, I was pretty much attached to that pump. Pumping 8 times a day. By the time I finished washing all the pump parts, it was time to do it all over again! To me it felt like a never ending cycle & I couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. I really commend those women who exclusively pumped because it really wasn’t easy for me.

I’m happy to say that after a month of exclusively pumping, Andrew was able to nurse. Little by little, I used that pump less & less. I felt great not being so attached to the pump like I was. I did keep it around for a while because at that point in the game, I would’ve rather used the pump I had than to go to the store & get a brand new one that I wouldn’t use as much anyways.

After 10 months, it was time to say goodbye. You may laugh, but  I actually got sentimental about returning the pump. I guess because it got me through one of the toughest parts of new mommyhood. What was once such a frustrating part of my life is now over. I can’t believe how fast this first year of parenthood is going. The nurses even told me when I returned the pump that this is just the beginning of many sentimental milestones. As a sappy person, I can’t wait to see what silly milestone I write about next.

3 Responses to “Goodbye Pump!”

  1. tarametblog May 7, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    I should have rented the hospital grade one, the one I had was nice, but probably not as effective. Congratulations on pumping and breastfeeding for so long too!

    • basicallyb May 7, 2013 at 11:29 am #

      aw thank you! :) I’m surprised I’m going as long as I am too. Thanks for stopping by.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Feeding Supplies | Track Pants and a Tot - May 22, 2013

    […] said it a million times, I had issues with nursing. Although it got better with time, I looked forward to the day Andrew would start eating solids. I know there’s so […]

Leave a Reply

