Recipe: Asian Chicken Burgers

29 Mar

I don’t know about you, but since having a little one, my time has been very limited. I’m always on the go, and I don’t have much time to cook these days. I still love to cook, but stick to the quick and easy recipes on weekdays.

Burgers are one of those meals that are fast, and very customizable. I came across a recipe from the Food Network for Asian Chicken Burgers and I knew I had to give it a try. I tweaked it a bit and got a tasty dinner, ready in under 30 minutes.

Asian Chicken Burger

Asian Chicken Burger

Asian Chicken Burgers

(adapted from The Food Network)

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 small onion, halved
  • 1 pound ground chicken
  • 1/4 cup panko
  • 1/4 cup black bean sauce
  • 1 tablespoon grated peeled ginger
  • 4 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 8 ounces white mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 4 hamburger buns

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  2. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray
  3. Grate one of the carrots and half of the onion into a large bowl. Add the chicken, panko, 2 tablespoons black bean sauce, ginger, 3 teaspoons soy sauce, and mix until combined. Shape the chicken mixture into 4 patties and place on the prepared baking sheet. Bake until cooked through, about 20 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, thinly slice other half of onion and carrot. Saute the other half of the onion in a medium skillet over medium high heat until translucent. Add the carrot and mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the black bean sauce and cook until heated through.
  5. Spoon a quarter of the black bean mixture on each of the buns. Top with the chicken patties and serve immediately.

What are some of your go to recipes?

2 Responses to “Recipe: Asian Chicken Burgers”

  1. Rhonda June 13, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    Was it good? Will you make it again? Should I try it out? It’s uniques sounding and totally seems like something that would make an appearance at our place. Burgers are one thing I rarely make at home. Tons of other things, but just not burgers. I love soups and stews in the winter and salads and slaws in the summer.

    • basicallyb June 13, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

      It was good & yes I’d make it again. Give it a try :) I make a lot of stews in the winter but definitely should try to make more salads in the summer. They sound so good, I just never get around to it!

Leave a Reply

