Time management

11 Mar

Time ManagementI’ll be the very first one to tell you I’m no expert in time management, especially when it comes to being a new mom. I feel like my time is more limited now than ever. As I mentioned in a previous post, I want to spend as much time with my son as I can. With that being said,here are some things I’ve done to manage my time since having the baby. It’s a work in progress, so I welcome any advice and input from all of you reading this.

1) Plan meals for the week

I did this way before having the baby. Just knowing what you’re going to eat for the whole week & getting the grocery shopping done in one trip has been the way to go for the last five years. Every Friday, I set time aside to go through my cookbooks and check my favorite blogs to decide on dinner for the week. We do the big grocery trip on Sundays,where we buy mostly everything on the list, and I check out the farmers market on Tuesdays for produce so things stay fresh. Since I’m pressed for time with the little one, most of my dinners have been crock pot meals. I also make large casseroles. I freeze half the batch to eat later, so it saves even more time.

2) Set out all outfits for the week

I’ve always been the one that grabs something just hours before going out, but as you know, time is limited with a baby. On Sundays, I let my husband watch Andrew for a bit while I put my outfits together for the week. That’s including all accessories. I make sure they’re all ironed too so I can just grab it right off the rack every day. Any time I save is helpful.

3) Multitask

Check your emails while you eat breakfast. Wash the dishes & clean the kitchen while dinner is in the oven. The list is endless.

4) Miscellany

I put Andrew in his crib with a few toys while I get ready for the day. I also put him in his exersaucer & take him to the kitchen with me when I cook so I can keep my eye on him. He likes it because he can be with mama & he gets mesmerized by the skylight overhead. I like it because he stays put in the exersaucer & doesn’t fuss, so it gives me a solid chunk of time to work on dinner.

5) Unplug

I admit this is a hard one for me, but it’s so rewarding. I’m really good about staying offline when Andrew’s awake. However, lately, I’ve found that I tend to get sucked into the internet while he sleeps. Sadly, my house will not tidy itself up while I’m surfing the net, so I need to designate times to go online. For me, it’s morning & evening, after I put Andrew down for bed. It’s a work in progress, but I feel more accomplished after getting stuff done during the day.

6) Get a planner, and use it!

There were so many times in the past that I bought a planner with every intention of using it, and it just sat there. Not anymore! I don’t care if you get an old school Franklin Covey planner or a digital one. Whichever one you’re the most comfortable with works best. In the past, I’d always rely on my memory. I always said I didn’t need a calendar. Nowadays, I can barely remember anything. You can blame it on mommy brain or exhaustion. I love my calendar. It keeps all my appointments, play dates, classes, and meal plans organized. I’m all for structure in my life and this is one of the best ways to do that.

Those are just some of the things I’ve done to optimize my time. How about you?

4 Responses to “Time management”

  1. Flora March 12, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    #1 and #3 I totally do too.
    I gotta start doing #2.

    • basicallyb March 13, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      Awesome! It’s all definitely an adjustment :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paper isn’t dead! | Track Pants and a Tot - April 1, 2013

    […] in my bag when I’m on the go, but as I mentioned earlier, it’s always a good idea to unplug every day. It’s so easy to get sucked into the internet, especially when you have a lot to do. […]

  2. Be Still | Track Pants and a Tot - April 22, 2013

    […] talked in an earlier post about unplugging. I’ll be the first one to admit that it’s not easy. Heck, I check my phone more than I […]

Leave a Reply

