Makeup for busy people

25 Feb
The five minute makeup routine.

The five minute makeup routine.

Long before I had my son, I worked at jobs where I’d have to be in the office by 6am. I am so not a morning person. With that being said, I never got up earlier than I needed to. However, I still wanted to look presentable at work, so I became pretty, dare I say it, proficient at the 5 minute makeup routine.

As a mama, my time is very precious, so I continued the 5 minute makeup routine that I started years ago.

Here are some of my favorite go-to products for the days where I’m pressed for time.

 

1. Bare Minerals Prime Time

This is my go-to primer. I’ve tried others, but I love this one because there’s nothing in it that irritates my skin. A little goes a long way & it keeps my makeup on too.

2. Aveeno Tinted Moisturizer

When I’m in a huge rush, or, if I’m just running out to the store really quick, I just put on some moisturizer, primer, and this tinted moisturizer. It provides just enough color so I don’t look so pale. The coverage is very light, but it’s just enough for quick errands or walks around the block.

3. Tarte 12 hour foundation

I’ve tried so many foundations over the years & this is one of my favorites. It provides full coverage without making my skin feel cakey.

4. MAC Paint Pots

These are so versatile. If I’m in a huge rush, I wear them alone as my eye shadow. If I have more time, I use them as my base. They come in many colors, so you can pair, say, soft ochre with your neutrals to make them pop out more, or painterly with your pinks to give them a little kick too. They definitely keep my  eye shadow on all day. I never have to reapply.

5. Korres Lip Butter

I’ve never been a lipstick kinda girl. I love these lip butters because they provide just enough color and keep your lips moisturized too. Sometimes less is more.

So there you have it. My tried & true go to 5 minute face routine. What’s your makeup routine like? What are your favorite products?

2 Responses to “Makeup for busy people”

  1. Must Have Boxes February 25, 2013 at 11:22 am #

    MAC paint pot is the best! I also use that bareMinerals primer. It’s amazing.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

    • basicallyb February 25, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

      I love those products! Both are so worth it.

Leave a Reply

